Chickpea, Kale, and Broccoli Stir Fry

Happy week after the 4th of July, everyone! I hope your holiday was filled with lots of great American food and some lovely fireworks. I headed to DC for the 4th to celebrate with my family, since they were visiting my sister up there. It was a fun trip, but the travel was extremely stressful (delays on delays on delays) and when I finally made it back to Birmingham, I felt like I needed some healthy foods since we were eating late, indulgent dinners the whole trip (and maybe a cupcake every day). Do you ever feel like you don’t get enough veggies on vacation? I feel that way all the time, so when it came to making dinner tonight, I knew I wanted something with plenty of greens in it. I felt like a meatless meal, so I settled on using chickpeas as a base, since they’re full of protein. I hit up the grocery store and stocked up on fresh produce. I decided to make a chickpea, kale, and broccoli stir fry, and it was delicious. The dish was very filling and packed a punch of super foods. It made enough for 2-3 servings.

(pre-parmesan sprinkling)

(pre-parmesan sprinkling)

Chickpea, Kale, and Broccoli Stir Fry

Olive oil
1/2 onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 head broccoli, cut into florets
Kale leaves, torn into smaller pieces (you can choose how many you want)
1 (15.5-oz) can chickpeas
1/2 cup vegetable broth
Crushed red pepper (to taste)
Salt and pepper (to taste)
Grated parmesan

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and sautee until just translucent. Add garlic; sautee 2 more minutes. Add broccoli and kale; sautee about 3 minutes. Add chickpeas, vegetable broth, red pepper, and salt and pepper. Cover and cook about 3-4 minutes, until chickpeas are heated and broccoli is cooked. Spoon into serving dishes and top with parmesan.

Leave a Reply

