Dill Chicken Salad Melts

For the past two months, I’ve been living with my aunt in Birmingham to save some money before getting my own place (which I’ll be moving into soon). We have our weekly routine, and Thursday nights are my night to cook for us. I’d come across a recipe for Dill Chicken Salad, and since dill is my second-favorite herb (after cilantro), I was really excited to try this recipe. I decided to make chicken salad melts to jazz it up a little for dinner. I really liked the taste of this salad and it got the stamp of approval from my aunt and cousin!

I made a few changes to the recipe, but not much. The main thing that I did differently was not putting the chicken in a food processor. I like bigger chunks of chicken in my chicken salad. I also cut corners and picked up a rotisserie chicken so I didn’t have to cook the chicken after work. I just used the white meat and cut it up into small chunks.

Dill Chicken Salad

Adapted from Mommy Hates Cooking

6 Oz Nonfat Greek Yogurt- Plain
1/2 Cup Nonfat Sour Cream
1 Cup Mayo
2 Tbsp Fresh Dill, chopped
1/2 Tsp Seasoned Salt
1 Tsp Parsley
4 Chicken Breasts, cut into chunks
3-4 Green Onions, chopped
3 Celery Stalks, chopped

Mix together first six ingredients until well blended. Add chicken, green onions and celery and stir until combined. Chill or serve immediately.

Note: Since I didn’t have 4 chicken breasts from the rotisserie chicken (I probably had the equivalent of 3 with the the meat from the wings), the salad was a little “saucier” than I would have liked it, but if I’d had a little more chicken it would have been perfect!

For the melts:

Put desired amount of chicken salad on a slice of your favorite fresh bread – I used Publix’s Italian Chicago Bread. Top with a slice of provolone cheese and toast in toaster oven until cheese is melted.

I meant to take a picture of the melts but I was so hungry that I didn’t remember until halfway through! I’ll get better at this food blogging thing, I promise…

One thought on “Dill Chicken Salad Melts

Leave a Reply

