In my attempt to be healthy…

So this is a delayed post but there has been a lot going on in my life lately! I was busy packing up my room at my aunt’s house to make the move to my new apartment! I officially moved in yesterday and I’m loving it! I moved into the Homewood area, which is a really nice neighborhood in Birmingham, basically convenient to everything. It’s so nice being only 1 mile from work (versus the previous 20) and 3 miles from the downtown areas of Birmingham where I always am on the weekends. The only bad thing is I don’t have furniture yet so I have to sleep on an air mattress for two weeks until my parents bring me a bed!

In addition to my move, I’ve also been crazy busy at work. I got promoted on a couple of projects I’ve been working on, which is awesome, but it also means I have a lot more work! In fact, I’m still working on it now from home, but I needed to take a break and blog about what I made for dinner earlier this week.

IMG_4654I’ve been trying to eat healthier and fresher and some days I just crave greens and vegetables and want nothing else. I considered making my Brussels Sprouts and Kale Stirfry (recipe to come at a later time), but then I saw this post on Betsylife and thought I’d give something else a try.  I followed her ingredient amounts pretty closely, but you can choose your own amounts. It’s so easy and so good for you! And I love how sneakily healthy sweet potatoes are. You wouldn’t think anything with the word “sweet” in its name would be healthy, but they contain almost three times the fiber of regular potatoes. Plus, they’re chock full of vitamins! Super easy, super healthy dinner! And I definitely needed all that protein for my crazy week I’ve had!

Healthy Sautee
Adapted from Betsylife

1 small sweet potato, cubed
8 asparagus spears
1/2 white onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1/3 cup cannellini beans
1 egg
1 tbsp. olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Sautee sweet potatoes, asparagus, and onions in olive oil until soft. Add garlic and beans. Sautee about 1 minute; add egg. Cook egg to desired yolk consistency. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

One thought on “In my attempt to be healthy…

  1. Pingback: Sweet Chili Chicken Stir-Fry | Life's Precious, Jules

Leave a Reply

