Peanutty Baked Chicken

Love this book!

Love this book!

Today was an absolutely beautiful day outside. It was sunny and 70 degrees. And when the weather is nice, I feel inspired to cook. Since I work for a cookbook publisher, I have a lot of cookbooks at my disposal. I grabbed my Cooking Light “Complete Meals in Minutes” book and decided to try the Peanutty Baked Chicken recipe. A challenge for me has been learning to cook for one, so I try to find recipes where I can repurpose the leftovers for another meal. I made 2 cutlets (versus the called for 4) and ate one for dinner, then cut up the other to top a salad for lunch tomorrow. It worked out perfectly!

photo 2

The preserves I used

This recipe was so easy to prepare and it was yummy! Like I said, I only made 2 cutlets, so I halved the ingredients. My chicken took a little longer to cook than the recipe says, but I think it was because my cutlets were thicker than 1/2 inch. I also used fig preserves instead of peach chutney, mainly  because the grocery store didn’t have peach chutney, but also because I love anything fig. And fig preserves can be spread on a pita chip and topped with goat cheese for a delicious snack! So I knew I would use it in other ways. The fig gave the dish a bit of sweetness and it worked well with the peanuts. And the best part about this dish is it’s healthy – coming in around 280 calories!

I got some beautiful fresh green beans at the grocery store tonight so I made those as my side. I steamed the green beans and then mixed them with 1/2 tablespoon butter and seasoned to taste with garlic salt. So easy but so delicious.

Here’s the original recipe I followed:

photo 1

Look at those beautiful green beans!

Peanutty Baked Chicken Cutlets
From Cooking Light

2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/3 cup peanuts
1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
4 (1/2-inch-thick) chicken breast cutlets (about 1 pound)
Cooking spray
1/4 cup peach chutney

Preheat oven to 500°. Combine honey and mustard in a small bowl; stir well. Place peanuts in a food processor; pulse until finely chopped. Combine peanuts and panko in a shallow bowl.
Brush each cutlet with honey mixture; dredge cutlets in panko mixture. Place cutlets on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray; lightly coat cutlets with cooking spray. Bake at 500° for 8 minutes or until done. Serve with chutney.

Leave a Reply

