Healthy Snacking

So I used to have a snacking problem. I mean, how can you resist all the yummy, crunchy, sweet, so-bad-for-you snacks at the grocery store? When I got to college I had the freedom to buy whatever snacks I wanted. And well, it was bad. The thing is, snacking isn’t actually bad for you. In fact, my nutrionist even recommended I have small snacks throughout the day. What matters is what you snack on. So since graduation, I’ve tried to cut out my unhealthy snacking habits. I avoid the cookie and candy aisles and if I do buy a snack, I choose a healthy trail mix or dried fruit. Otherwise, I just try to eat fresh fruit if I’m craving something sweet, or protein-packed nuts like almonds, if I need something salty.

Last night, I was helping to host a party for work, but I had some time in between work and the party to refuel. I wanted to make sure I had a snack to keep me going (there was going to be food at the party, but I wasn’t sure when I’d get to eat since I was helping out), so I decided to be a little experimental. I checked my pantry and fridge and found I had all the right ingredients to make a yummy Greek yogurt snack.

photoI grabbed my Greek yogurt, fig preserves (told you I’d use them again), and pistachios and got to work. First, I crushed up about 10 pistachios. Then I mixed about a teaspoon (maybe a little more) of fig preserves into the yogurt (probably about 1/3 cup), sprinkled on the pistachios, and drizzled with a little honey. Done! Delicious and healthy! Ok so maybe the honey isn’t THAT healthy, but Greek yogurt is so healthy for you and pistachios are the lowest calorie nut and a good source of fiber and vitamins.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Snacking

  1. Love Greek yogurt as a satisfying snack because of all the protein! Another good snack option is fat-free cottage cheese. I add chopped fruit and nuts and it’s good to go!

Leave a Reply

