Repurposed Leftovers: Goat Cheese-Butternut Squash Ciabatta

I know, I know, I’ve been the worst blogger EVER. But the weather has finally been nice so I’ve been running a lot and then I have to come home and cook dinner, and then clean up, so the last thing I feel like doing is blogging after all that. But I’m finally making myself do this because I’m building up a stash of recipes I need to share.

In my last post, I told you to stay tuned to see what I did with the leftover squash. Well, I created a goat cheese, roasted squash and red onion marmalade ciabatta sandwich. Let me give you some background on my inspiration for this. When I was studying in London, my parents came to visit for a week and we went to see the white chalk cliffs at Seven Sisters, located right outside the town of Eastbourne, on the coast of England. Since it was cold, rainy and extremely windy that day, we didn’t spend too much time at the cliffs for fear of being blown off (I’m actually not exaggerating – the wind ripped all of our umbrellas to shreds and I had to crawl on my hands and knees to even get close to the cliff). To make the trip worth it though, we walked around the town of Eastbourne and went to a local pub recommended by our cab driver. I wish I could remember the name of this pub, because it was some of the best food I’ve ever had – and my family agrees. My mom and I still talk about how we wish we could go back. I ordered a toasted ciabatta sandwich with honey roasted pumpkin, goat cheese, and red onion marmalade and it was to die for. The combination of flavors was wonderful and it was actually the dish that started my love affair with goat cheese. I have wanted to recreate that sandwich for over 2 years now, and I finally did.

Butternut squash is an acceptable substitute for pumpkin, but since I’d roasted my squash for the risotto, it wasn’t honey roasted. To make up for it, I bought honey goat cheese. I whipped up a red onion marmalade (I used this recipe from Mirror Mirror), toasted some ciabatta bread, and voila! I had my English pub sandwich! Of course, it didn’t taste quite like the original, but it was still delicious and brought me back to one of my favorite memories.

English Pub Goat Cheese-Butternut Squash Ciabatta

Honey Goat Cheese
Roasted Squash
Red Onion Marmalade

To roast squash: Combine squash and 1 tablespoon oil, tossing to coat. Arrange squash in a single layer on jelly-roll pan. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until squash is just tender. (My squash was seasoned with garlic for the risotto, but it wasn’t strong.)

Toast ciabatta bread until crispy. Spread with a thick layer of goat cheese, top with squash and red onion marmalade. Enjoy!

Repurposed Leftovers: Marmalade

The marmalade recipe makes a good bit (I actually only used 1 large onion and reduced portions a little), so save the leftovers and add to other sandwiches or snacks. I spread goat cheese on pita crisps and topped with the marmalade for a perfect after-work snack!

6 thoughts on “Repurposed Leftovers: Goat Cheese-Butternut Squash Ciabatta

  1. That sounds so delicious! Goat cheese is one of my favorites, and paired with sweet onions? Even better. Then throw on the squash too? Amazing!! Glad you didn’t have to suffer huge gusts of winds before enjoying this sandwich! ;]

    • It is a great combo! You will definitely have to try it, especially as a fellow goat cheese lover! 🙂 And yes – definitely glad there were no angry winds this time!

  2. Won’t we all?! I created an even better recipe with goat cheese last night…once I get caught up with all my other recipes I’ll be posting about it so check back!

  3. Fun memories of England….Remember the cauliflower, broccoli and mashed potato dish we had at that restaurant? I came up with a pretty good duplicate when we got back! (I just hope I remembered to write my recipe down)!

Leave a Reply

