Banana Bread

For some reason, I really don’t bake that much. It’s not that I don’t enjoy baking – and lord knows I definitely have a sweet tooth – I just hardly ever do it. Maybe it’s because cooking is a necessity and baking is more just for fun, and with my tiny salary I definitely can’t afford many “just for fun” projects. However, I will bake when the occasion calls for it, and there were 4 bananas sitting on my counter that were way past their due date. I don’t like to just throw out food, so I knew I had to make some banana bread. Banana bread is one of my most favorite things in the world. It is so good any time of day. There’s nothing better than a moist piece of banana bread for breakfast, or a piece spread with cream cheese for an after-work snack. I am very picky about my banana bread though. Don’t give me that dry crumbly stuff. Don’t skimp on the bananas. And definitely don’t put nuts in mine. When done right, I believe banana bread should have a dense, moist texture with banana being the prominent flavor – not a sweet bread with a slight hint of banana.

I have yet to find a place (or another person) who can make banana bread that’s better than my mom’s (and now my) recipe. However, I did read an article in my March Bon Apetit about a place in Hawaii that supposedly has the best banana bread the writer has ever had. And ironically the place is called Julia’s…hmm I might have to make a trip there. Anyway, maybe I shouldn’t be giving out our family recipe but it’s just so good it’s cruel not to share. So I hope you enjoy because this truly is the most delicious, moistest banana bread there is. (And it’s super easy to make!)

P.S. Apologies I don’t have a better picture – I actually wasn’t even thinking about blogging when I made this. I just took the pic to send to my mom and make her proud!

Perfectly golden banana bread

Perfectly golden banana bread

Mom’s Banana Bread

4 tbsp. butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
4 bananas, mashed (the riper/softer, the better)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup sour cream (Optional, but I always add it because it makes it
much more moist!)

In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar together; add egg. Stir in bananas and then dry ingredients. Add sour cream, stir until well combined.

Pour batter into a greased loaf pan. Bake at 325 for 50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. To make muffins instead, pour batter into muffin pan and bake for 25 minutes.

One thought on “Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

