Pantry Recipe: Chicken with Basil-Feta Topping

So I’m going to start categorizing some of my posts as new ideas come to me – I did my first “Repurposed Leftovers” post and this will be my first “Pantry Recipe” post. Pantry Recipes are recipes that I threw together from the ingredients I had – mostly because I had various things I needed to use up before they go bad! These are also the recipes I didn’t have to go out and buy ingredients specifically for – therefore saving me time and money (most importantly). Look for “Repurposed Leftovers” as a full recipe or as an added blurb to the end of posts.

Last week I had some chicken breasts, feta, and fresh basil I needed to use up. I evaluated what I had in my pantry and what I could make with what I had. Italian breadcrumbs and some fresh lemons caught my eye. I decided to bread and pan fry the chicken and make a lemon-basil-feta topping to go with it. The chicken breasts I had were HUGE so I actually butterflied one and made the both halves, saving one for a lunch – so the recipe measurements are portioned for 2 small chicken breast halves. It was super easy and super fast – perfect since I was going out with friends later that night. I made some brown rice and peas to round out the meal.

IMG_5317Chicken with Basil-Feta Topping

Chicken
1/2 cup Italian-style breadcrumbs
2 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
Salt
Pepper
2 tbsp. olive oil
Basil-Feta Topping

Sprinkle chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Dredge chicken breasts in breadcrumbs in a shallow bowl, or place chicken and breadcrumbs in ziptop bag and shake until fully coated.

Heat a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; add oil. Add chicken to pan; cook about 5 minutes to brown. Flip chicken over, cook about 5 more minutes or until done. Top each half with Basil-Feta Topping.

Basil-Feta Topping
1 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tbsp. chopped fresh basil
2 tbsp. olive oil
Dash of pepper
1/4 cup feta cheese

Combine lemon juice, basil, oil and pepper; stir well. Add feta; stir until fully coated. (Ingredients don’t need to be specific – I did mine to taste but these are my general measurements.)

Repurposed Leftovers: Chicken Nuggets

As I mentioned above, I was working with two chicken breast halves. Well about halfway through dredging the first breast half, I decided to actually cut the second half up into little chicken nuggets. I breaded and fried them just like the breast and saved them for lunch the next day. The next afternoon, I made some honey mustard sauce (1 tbsp. Dijon mustard, 2 tbsp. honey, splash of lemon juice) to dip my chicken nuggets in and had an easy, yummy lunch. They kind of tasted like Chicfila nuggets – who wouldn’t love that?

If you have any leftover feta topping, you can use it to top salads or sandwiches.

One thought on “Pantry Recipe: Chicken with Basil-Feta Topping

Leave a Reply

