Strawberry Basil Goat Cheese Grilled Cheese

As you may have figured out from some of my last posts, I love goat cheese. So when I found out April was grilled cheese month (yes, I’m behind in posting this recipe), I knew I had to make some sort of experimental grilled cheese. Of course, my mind went directly to a goat cheese grilled cheese. And what pairs well with goat cheese? Fruit! I knew strawberries were coming into season, and thus my idea was born – strawberry goat cheese grilled cheese.

I picked up some fresh strawberries, whole-grain bread and honey goat cheese from the store and got to cooking. I decided to jazz things up a little and make balsamic strawberries, and use some fresh basil for added flavor. The result was absolutely delicious. The fresh basil really made the sandwich, so I’m glad I decided to add it. I knew it would complement the strawberries well, and it gave it that fresh-from-the garden taste. It lightened things up from the heavier flavors of the balsamic and goat cheese. Paired with a salad, this is a quick and easy springtime meal. It’s also a perfect addition to any brunch or afternoon tea. Try experimenting with other fruits and herbs – I’m going to try blackberry and sage next!

StrbrryGrillCheeseStrawberry Basil Goat Cheese Grilled Cheese
Makes 2 sandwiches

Honey (or regular) goat cheese
About 8 strawberries, tops cut off and sliced
1 – 2 tsp. balsamic vinegar (or to taste – I didn’t really measure)
Sprinkle of sugar
Fresh basil, chopped
4 slices whole-grain bread

First, make the balsamic strawberries. Sprinkle strawberries with sugar to slightly sweeten them. Add balsamic vinegar, stir and let sit for at least 30 minutes to absorb the flavor. You can also make the strawberries ahead of time – the longer they sit, the more they absorb the flavor.

Toast 2 slices of bread slightly, to make spreading the goat cheese easier. Spread goat cheese on one side of both slices of bread. Top one slice with strawberries and fresh basil. Top with other bread slice. Grill sandwich in panini press or skillet until goat cheese is slightly melted. Repeat (starting with toasting bread) for second sandwich. Enjoy!

StrbrryGrlldChse

Leave a Reply

