Spiced Pork Chops with Balsamic Spiced Wine Plum Sauce

I know I haven’t posted in forever, but this time I have a legitimate excuse…my laptop died! For good. I knew it was coming soon — my trusty MacBook Pro was about to turn 5 years old next month and it had been through a lot. And by a lot, I mean college. ‘Nuff said. The problem was, I refuse to use anything other than a Mac (and it is my industry’s standard anyway) but was having a hard time stomaching the thought of spending that much money on my current tight budget, so I kept putting it off for weeks. Fortunately, I did get a promotion at work, so finally I just sucked it up and went and bought my new baby yesterday! I’m now using my new MacBook Pro as we speak and it’s so fast and shiny! Such a difference from my old MacBook, which was about to become “vintage” in August, according to Apple. But the best part is that now I can finally get back to blogging! And I created a delicious recipe just for that reason.

The inspiration for this recipe came from the summer fruits I bought the other day. I was looking in my fridge and wondering what I could make with what I had already since I don’t plan on spending any money anytime soon (thanks computer). My bag of plums and nectarines caught my eye, along with a bottle of Spiced Wine a friend had given me. I already had pork chops, and thus my recipe was born. This recipe is so easy to make and has a lot of great flavors! I’m not sure how easy it is to find Spicy Vines Spiced Wine, but I’m sure any brand (or sangria) would work fine.

SpicedPorkSpiced Pork Chops with Balsamic Spiced Wine Plum Sauce

Sauce:
1 plum, julienned
1 nectarine, julienned
1 tsp. sugar (optional – my plum was a little tart)
About 1/2 cup spiced wine (enough to fully soak fruit in)
Balsamic Vinegar

Pork:
2 boneless pork chops
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp. ground cloves
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper

Other:
1 clove garlic, minced
Olive oil

First, prepare the sauce to allow fruit to soak in the flavor of the wine. Place fruit in bowl and pour in wine; stir to coat. Cover and let sit about 30 minutes. (You will add the balsamic later).

Mix together cinnamon, cloves, salt. and pepper in a small bowl. Sprinkle and rub evenly over pork chops.

Heat olive oil (enough to cover bottom of skillet) in pan on medium-high heat. Cook pork chops about 2 minutes on each side, until browned. Add garlic and stir constantly, so as not to burn the garlic (you can add a little more oil to prevent this), for about 30 seconds. Add the fruit mixture and balsamic vinegar to taste; stir. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and cook until pork is fully cooked. Mine took about 5 minutes. Remove pork chop to plate, pour sauce over top. Enjoy!

One thought on “Spiced Pork Chops with Balsamic Spiced Wine Plum Sauce

Leave a Reply

