Cajun White Chicken Chili

Chili_editlarge

Y’all it has been so cold here in Birmingham. I’m so glad it is the last day of February because I am ready to move on from this freezing weather into spring! After two months of 20-degree weather but no snow (why is it cold if it’s not going to snow), we finally got some snow this past week. I was so excited. I love snow and was afraid I wouldn’t see any this year. Growing up in North Carolina, I was used to seeing it at least once a year. Birmingham is a little more iffy on that matter. We got about two inches of snow on Wednesday and of course I had to go out and play in it. We had a snowball fight, made a snowman, and went sledding (in a kayak)!

photo 3 (4)

Anticipating this snow all week, I knew I had to make a warming, comforting meal to accompany the cold weather. I had some chicken in my freezer and a can of cannellini beans in my pantry, so I decided to make a white chicken chili. I got creative and decided to put a Cajun spin on it (inspired by a recent trip to Louisiana). I was given some Mexi-Cajun seasoning a few months ago that I decided to incorporate and it gave the soup so much flavor. You can find the seasoning I used here, but I’m sure any type of Cajun seasoning would work just as well.

This soup is so.good. I couldn’t get enough of it. The flavors in it are warm-you-to-the-bone good. It has just the right amount of kick to warm your belly but not enough to burn your mouth for hours after. Seriously, this is the best thing to make on a chilly day. Oh and did I mention the best part? It’s made in a slow cooker! So all you have to do is throw all the ingredients in it, set the timer, and go out and play in the snow while it’s cooking. When you get back, a warm meal awaits you. Can’t beat it.

photo 2 (5)

I made a batch of Green Chile Cheddar bread from Soberdough to go along with it. If you haven’t heard of them, check out their mixes. You just add a can or bottle of beer to most, bake, and enjoy. I’m obsessed.

photo 2 (6)

This recipe makes about 4-5 servings, but it can easily be doubled.

Cajun White Chicken Chili

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 (15.5 oz) can cannellini beans
1 (15.25 oz) can corn kernels, drained
1 (4-oz) can mild green chiles
2 Tbsp. Mexi-Cajun seasoning
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
Toppings: Cheddar cheese, sour cream

1. In a 4.5-quart slow cooker, add chicken and next 9 ingredients. Stir to combine. Cover and cook on HIGH for 3-3/12 hours, until chicken is cooked through.

2. Remove chicken from slow cooker and shred with forks. Return to slow cooker, stirring to combine. Top servings with Cheddar cheese and sour cream.

Change it up:

  • I love garlic, and this soup is definitely garlicky. If you’re not a huge fan of garlic, try 2 cloves of garlic.
  • Want more spiciness? Use hot green chiles instead of mild. Want less heat? Reduce the amount of Cajun seasoning.
  • Add avocado and fresh cilantro to your topping options.
2 thoughts on “Cajun White Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

