Pasta with Parmesan Cream Sauce and Peas

Sometimes I don’t want to spend more than 30 minutes making dinner. Or sometimes I don’t even have more than 30 minutes to make and eat my dinner, which was the case last Monday night. I got home from work at 6:30pm and had to be out the door again at 7:15pm. I refuse to eat frozen dinners and don’t want to get in the habit of just picking up food from a restaurant (it’ll get to your wallet) when I can prepare a quick and delicious meal at home. I already had some pasta that I had cooked up a couple days before, so this dish was especially easy to throw together.

And let me just apologize that I didn’t get a better/prettier picture. I wasn’t even thinking about blogging this as I was hurrying to get things ready but just snapped a quick shot to send to my mom (she is my fellow pasta lover – we are Italian after all)! But once I realized, “Hey, this is pretty good,” I knew I had to share it with you all. Buon appetito!

photo (5)

Pasta with Parmesan Cream Sauce and Peas

8oz heavy cream
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 large clove garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup peas, thawed from frozen
Hot cooked pasta

Heat cream over medium heat just until bubbles start to form around edges. Whisk in Parmesan cheese until combined. Add garlic and salt and pepper to taste. Stir occasionally until sauce thickens. When sauce has reached desired thickness, stir in peas.  Pour sauce over pasta and serve immediately.

Note: This sauce is best eaten the day it is prepared.

Change it up:

  • Add some spears of asparagus, trimmed and cut into smaller pieces, for some extra veggie nutrition.
  • Throw some cooked pancetta or bacon into the dish for the meat lovers.
  • Sprinkle a little nutmeg in the sauce for a hint of sweetness.

UPDATE:

I made this again and threw in some broccoli and it was fabulous. I found a rare stash of my favorite pasta shape, orecchiette (why don’t normal grocery stores carry it?), and it’s the best type of pasta to hold the sauce in this dish. I just threw the broccoli in the pot with the pasta and boiled it together. When pasta was cooked and broccoli was soft, I drained it and then tossed with the sauce. And topped with a little extra Parmesan for good measure!

photo (7)

5 thoughts on “Pasta with Parmesan Cream Sauce and Peas

  1. I have made a similar recipe before…your grandmother and her family always made “Peas and Macaroni” as a simple weeknight dinner!

Leave a Reply

