Friday Lunch Edition: Melt Avondale

photo 3

I have a confession to make. I’m not a huge fan of Melt Food Truck.

When I moved down here and people kept talking about this grilled cheese truck, I was so excited to try it. A gourmet grilled cheese truck?! How could I not love it?

But unfortunately it did not live up to the hype. There are really only one or two sandwiches I could classify as grilled cheeses on the menu; everything else is just a hot sandwich. I’ve given it so many chances to be what it could be, but it’s just not. And it’s not like the sandwiches are bad, but when you’re expecting a buffalo grilled cheese and you get a sandwich with two whole chicken tenders and one slice of cheese on it or an “open-faced” caprese sandwich that is actually a pizza, it’s a little misleading.

So when Melt opened a restaurant in Avondale, I was reluctant to try it. HOWEVER, I have to say, after my first trip today, that Melt functions much better as a restaurant than a food truck. As a brick-and-mortar, I think Melt has evolved into more of a restaurant with specialty sandwiches, salads, and appetizers instead of holding on to the grilled cheese label.

I took my little sister because I knew it was a menu she would like, and we were both impressed. It has a great atmosphere and a nice screened in porch to take advantage of in the warm weather.

photo 1

I planned on getting just the regular grilled cheese with a side of tomato basil soup, but when the waiter mentioned the special flatbread they had today, I changed my mind. I thought I would give something else a chance since I hadn’t previously been impressed with the truck’s sandwiches.

The flatbread had mozzarella cheese, grilled chicken, pecans, apples, and a bacon balsamic drizzle. It came with a side salad with heirloom tomatoes and some sort of herb vinaigrette.

photo 2

It was really good! The flatbread was crispy, the chicken was real white meat chicken and had a good marinated flavor, and the bacon balsamic drizzle had a really nice herby taste that complemented the chicken, cheese, and pecans. The salad and dressing was also good, and the tomatoes tasted so fresh.

My sister got the Mac Melt, which is mac and cheese in a grilled cheese on Texas Toast. This was the first thing I ever tried from the truck, and was so disappointed. It was just dry mac and cheese sandwiched between bread, but I was happy to see they had improved it for the restaurant.

photo 4

The mac and cheese was so creamy, and there was also additional cheese melted on the sandwich, which kept it from being dry like the first sandwich I had. It was really good. Obviously it’s a carb overload, but if you’re looking for a splurge dish, this would be it.

And speaking of splurge dishes…we decided to order dessert to satisfy our sweet cravings. We opted for (there’s always money in) the Banana Stand, which is Nutella and bananas melted between Texas Toast, sprinkled with powdered sugar and drizzled with clover honey. So sinful; so good.

photo 5

So if you haven’t been to Melt the restaurant, I would definitely give it a try. It’s a great place to take a lingering lunch or hang out at on the weekends. But if you do go for lunch during the week, expect that you might have to wait a little. We got there around 12:30pm and were told it would be a 35 minute wait. It turned out to only be about 15-20 minutes, but just factor in that that might happen.

5 thoughts on “Friday Lunch Edition: Melt Avondale

  1. Yum! We had a banana and Nutella crepe in France, but the funniest thing they had at lots of places was a Nutella panini (just toasted French bread and Nutella)!

  2. I have yet to try their truck but now I am not sure that I care too after seeing what you said. I have been to the restaurant several times and have to say that I love it! I have tried their Greek salad, Matilda Rolls, Blue Nachos, the Flyin’ Hawaiian, and one of their chicken sandwiches that had some ghost peppers or something on it. I have loved everything so far and they have a pretty decent happy hour. I really like their pasta salad. That Banana Stand looks amazing and I am going to have to try it some time!!!!

    • Don’t let me dissuade you from trying the truck and forming your own opinion BUT I don’t think it would be a bad decision to just stick with the restaurant. 🙂

      I want to go back to try the Matilda Rolls!

Leave a Reply

